Uncategorized

How to Repair Dog Chewed Wood

dog-chewed-wood

Lesson Learned: Dogs are a man’s best friend, but not necessarily a wooden table’s.

Hello there!! Before we begin, you can also join in on the fun on Instagram and Pinterest. Here you can keep up to date with my projects, decor ideas and sneak peeks!

To provide a little background, this project came from our kitchen table renovation post. For those of you who have read it already, sorry I’ll be a bit repetitive! For those of you who haven’t… The legs of the kitchen table that was gifted to us were pretty chewed up by the previous owner’s dog! When I say chewed I mean to the point where the grooves were no longer visible! Take a look at the pictures below. 

You may have learned through previous posts I am a bitttt impatient, so here is another confession! My initial thought was that a little sanding and some paint would mask the chewed legs, you know seeing as one’s eyes are never really that close to the legs of a table! BUT as you can see in the pictures below.. I was very wrong. They still looked so poorly!! It was obvious I needed some way to repair this eye sore.

Here is evidence that sanding and painting alone was not enough.. 
dog-chewed-legdog-chewed-leg1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So after the harsh realization that I would need to take more time on this portion of the project, I sent Jason off to the hardware store (aka his second home) in search of a filler or some magic to try and repair the legs as best we could. After a few conversations with workers and some google searching on their recommendations he returned with J-B Weld Kwikwood. This stuff is definitely a filler and magic all in one!

Now I needed to sand and remove the paint I had (stupidly) applied. I also tried to get the surface as smooth as could be, and remove any other traces of bite marks!

I’ll admit when we first opened up the Kwikwood putty it was not as expected. As you can see below, it looks a bit like a piece of candy, almost like a Tootsie Roll cut in half. That being said I definitely do not recommend testing to see if it tastes like a tootsie roll!  

Kwikwood6.jpg

A little goes a long way with this stuff, so cut off a piece smaller than you initially think you’ll need. You need to combine the two colors of the Kwikwood in order for the chemical reaction to work. Here’s my less scientific take on I combined the two colors: I squashed it between my fingers like Play Doh for a minute until it turned to a consistent Latte color. (If you have any clue how this chemical reaction works.. enlighten me please!)

Once you have your latte play doh, you’re ready to bring out your inner artist/sculptor. Use small pieces of play doh to squash into the areas of wood that need covering. Build up layers until it resembles something similar to what your wood looked like before (or in our case before those dog teeth got a hold of it). Please excuse Jason laying on the garage floor here, he seems to enjoy sitting on the floor while doing work. Naturally, he had to try out the play doh first before he let me do it. I think that’s the inner child coming out in him.

Kwikwood3.jpg

As you can see in the picture above, we weren’t too worried about being exact, you can always sand off any extra to make it smooth and level. To apply, I just used my fingers and this strange round thing I found to apply and shape the putty.

Kwikwood2.jpg
Does anybody know what this tool is? I think it’s a paint can opener??

This round tool was the perfect size and shape to make sure the grooves were the correct size. I am sure some perfectionists out there will say you need a putty knife but I am on a budget and didn’t want to buy one. It’s amazing how much you can do with some ingenuity, using what you have lying around at home (Thanks to my Mom’s garage at this time). 

Once you have applied the putty, you have around 30 minutes before it starts to dry and set. Trust me, 30 minutes is longer than you think, especially when you’re sitting on a garage floor, so do not rush the application. You can always work in small pieces and mix and add more putty if you run out. I think I ran out a few times, and had to mix more putty- but then again the area I needed to repair was pretty substantial. Yours may not be so.

A little tip: dip your finger in some water and use this to help smooth out the putty, it will give you a nice smooth finish so you don’t have to sand as much – time saver!! As you can see from the picture below, I smoothed the putty out afterward and forgot to take another picture until I was finished – Sorry!!!! 

Once I had shaped it to look similar to what it would have been originally I left it to dry for a couple of hours. Actually to be honest- a couple of hours turned into another day! I ended up disappearing to go and pick up a dresser I bought from a yardsale on Facebook and then stopped at the hardware store, you know how it is when you start a new project!? Before I knew it, it was was bed time so I came back to work the next day. You can see the dresser makeover I mentioned here!

 

Upon returning to the table the following day, the putty had dried as hard as a rock and required a fair amount of sanding. I started with some harsh 80 grit sand paper and a sanding block to make sure I was going to create a flat edge. As always sand with a harsher sandpaper first and then work up to a finer grit. I finished with a 150 grit paper to get a smooth finish.

Once I was happy with the shape of the repair job, out came the paint (again)! I painted the putty with 2 coats to get complete coverage. The repair job was now complete and we were officially 100% happy with the table renovation!

img_3356

Take a look at the final result of the table, doesn’t she look amazing?! You can really see the repaired grooves on the legs (left front of picture) of the table in this picture below:

img_3355

Country Kitchen Table Renovation

Much love!!

ari signature

3 thoughts on “How to Repair Dog Chewed Wood

Leave a Reply

